History of WL in Wales and IWF

Over the years, Weightlifting Wales has won over 50 Commonwealth medals since first appearing in the Commonwealth Games in 1954. One of these medals was won by current Welsh Head Coach Ray Williams, who won the gold medal in the 1986 Commonwealth Games.

Welsh Weightlifter, Dave Morgan was the winner of 12 of these Commonwealth medals and goes down in history not only in Weightlifting but in sport itself as the only athlete to win medals over six different Commonwealth Games, with 9 Gold and 3 Silver medals to his name. Morgan also won numerous other titles and medals at major internationals such as World Junior Championships and also competed at two Olympic Games during his phenomenal career.

David Morgan successful Snatch in Manchester 2000 Commonwealth Games
Gareth Evans celebrating on podium at Commonwealth Games 2018
Wales commonwealth games 4
Wales commonwealth games 1
Wales commonwealth games 3
Wales commonwealth games 2

Wales has a proud history in Weightlifting. There have been a number of Welsh Weightlifters who have competed at the very top level of sport by competing at the Olympic Games as part of Team Great Britain.

As mentioned above, Dave Morgan competed in the 1984 and 1988 Olympic Games, his brother, Tony Morgan competed in the 1992 Olympic Games. Gary Taylor also competed in the 1984 Olympic Games, Gareth Evans in the 2012 Olympic Games (Gareth also became the Commonwealth Champion in the 2018 Games). Michaela Breeze competed in the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games, as well as winning 6 Commonwealth medals in total throughout her career, two of which were gold medals in the 2002 and 2006 Commonwealth Games. Natasha Purdue competed in the 2012 London Olympic Games, and her father, Terry Purdue also competed in the 1968 and 1972 Olympic Games.